Frequently Asked Questions

Who organises the Diversity & Inclusion Awards?

The awards are run in partnership with Dods Group Plc and the Civil Service Diversity & Inclusion team. Dods Group have been the operational delivery partner for the awards for the past 13 years with the shared goal in mind to highlight and champion the importance of diversity and inclusion across government.

How do I enter?

Nominations will open on 6 April 2020 via the awards website and will close on 8 May 2020.  Please ensure your nomination has been fully submitted before the deadline. 

Who can enter the Diversity & Inclusion Awards?

We will accept nominations from all Civil Service organisations, including Executive Agencies, Non-Departmental Public Bodies and Arms Lengths bodies, as well as from the wider public sector. 

What happens with my nomination?

Following the nominations period, experts such as Civil Service Heads of Diversity and Civil Service Employee Network Leaders will review all of the nominations and draw up a shortlist for each category. The shortlists will then be reviewed by our panel of expert judges who will select the overall winner in each of the 8 award categories.

Do I have to tell the person I am nominating them?

We advise that you inform anyone you are nominating that you have done so, although this is at your own discretion.

How are the awards funded?

The awards are cost neutral to the Civil Service as all costs are covered by Dods Group Plc through advertising and sponsorship from outside the Civil Service.

Why have some of the categories been changed?

Each year we review our categories and take the opportunity to refresh and modernise the awards to ensure they continue to reflect the priorities of the Civil Service.

How many categories are there?

There are eight awards categories. For full details please visit the 'Categories' page on the Awards website.

How do the Diversity & Inclusion Awards link to the Civil Service Awards?

Winners of the individual categories from the Diversity & Inclusion Awards in October will form the shortlist for the overall Diversity & Inclusion category in the annual Civil Service Awards taking place in November 2020. For more information please visit the Civil Service Awards website

Who should I contact if I have any questions about the Awards process?

Should you need any further information please contact the team at